Classic Rock Prog album review – Can

August 3, 2012 § 6 Comments

I was commissioned to illustrate the lead album review in issue 28 of Classic Rock Prog recently. It was a review of the “Lost Tapes” record by 1970′s German experimental rockers Can. The art ed over at Prog was very obliging and open to ideas, so I got to just go to town and create something suitably psych and weird.

I spent a long-ass time drawing and colouring this one – first time working with a mag, you always wanna do the job as good as you can. Although I’m still slow with my drawing, I think it’s getting better very gradually – illustrating regularly for another music mag this last year has kept my pencil on paper, and although I’ve not always been crazy about the results (and time constraints), I am improving little by little.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Classic Rock Prog album review – Can

  • mahuddle says:

    Wow, this is very cool. Many congratulations! Wonder if that mag is available in the US?

    • Thanks, man. I dunno if it is or not…pretty big around Europe, I guess, so maybe somewhere! It’s kind of a crappy photo, but I might pop the actual illo up on Tumblr for a little bit to show people (though I get kind of wary posting my own work sometimes – I worry it’s gonna come across like I’m just a gloating, conceited asshole. Self-promotion is a delicate balance!)

  • martin says:

    Damn, this drawing rocks. Saw it in the magazine and now found this place. Actual image would be nice, but haven’t you thought of selling this, like your other works? I would love to have it on my wall.

    M

    P.S. The Big Cartel link is broken
    P.P.S The link http://www.stephenkellyart.co.uk/ doesn’t also work

    • Hi Martin, thanks for that, I really appreciate it! And thanks for the heads up on the broken links – they used to work, for some reason WordPress was inserting it’s own address in front. The http://www.stephenkellyart.co.uk site is actually really old and no longer used, where did you see that listed?! I’ll need to go in and remove it – the folio site I now use is http://WWW.INKSPILLSINC.COM, the Can illustration is up there. I’d love to sell you a print, but sadly it was commissioned by the magazine, so they own the rights to it! Cheers again for stopping by, makes my day to hear someone digs the work :)

      • martin says:

        Sad, was hoping, that there would be a way.
        The link is in your profile (i think) – when you click on your name in the comments.
        And keep those brilliant pictures coming :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Classic Rock Prog album review – Can at Ink Spills Inc..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

